Home / Balsamic Titbits / Balsamic Vinegar is gluten-free

Balsamic Vinegar is gluten-free

Is Balsamic Vinegar gluten-free? The answer is yes.
Balsamic Vinegar is gluten-free! There is no doubt that Balsamic Vinegar of Modena is famous all over the world and is being used by chefs in their kitchens. This precious Black Gold from Modena adds an unmistakable flavour to the dishes. The mixture of sour and sweet tastes creates a unique result.

Is this food excellence gluten-free? Yes, it is. But be careful because the product needs to have the PDO and PGI certification.

In this regard, we have to make some clarifications.
There are no restrictions on the use of additives, flavours and dyes for Balsamic dressings but their composition requires specific assessment for the suitability of each case. However there is a difference when it comes to Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PDO and PGI.

The Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PDO and PGI must be subject to a strict production disciplinary as well as compliance with the rules is guaranteed by a specific control authority. These kinds of vinegar are composed of selected ingredients, which guarantee the absence of gluten.

In particular:

  • Traditional Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PDO is composed of a single ingredient: cooked grape must. There are no additives, preservatives, caramel or other types of substances. Any trace of gluten is absent for this type of vinegar.Balsamic Vinegar is gluten-free
  • Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI is made up of three ingredients: cooked grape must, wine vinegar and caramel (maximum 2%). Although there are more elements, there are no traces of gluten.

Regarding the category of Balsamic condiments, there are some differences. The ingredients permitted by law for products of this type must contain cooked wine, vinegar, caramel, fructose, glucose and thickeners. Producers bottle the products. As the law affirms, this kind of Vinegar cannot be called with the name “Balsamic Vinegar of Modena”. There are not authorities that can guarantee control over the ingredients, including the presence of gluten.

Dear friends, if you have got an allergy or an intolerance to gluten, we advise you to pay close attention to the products’ labels and always choose PGI and PDO Balsamic Vinegar for your dishes!

Greetings from Modena.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *